2009 Asian Science Camp

August 2-8, 2009
Tsukuba, Ibaraki, JAPAN


last modified:

How to participate

Participation to the Asian Science Camp is through invitation only. Each interested student is supposed to submit an application to the local contact person/organization in his or her country, which will initiate a local selection process. A short list of potential participants including a team leader/teacher accompanying the selected students will be put forward to the ASC organizing committee. About 200 top applicants will receive an invitation to the ASC. The list of local contact persons/organizations can be found below, through which details on the local selection procedure will be announced.


To be eligible the applicants have to satisfy the following criteria:
  1. Be students with outstanding scientific talent in the fields of natural sciences selected from high schools (last-year or twelfth grade) and colleges.
  2. Be proficient in oral and written English.
  3. Have a genuine interest in science and research.
  4. Be able to fully attend the 2009 ASC.
  5. Have the permission to fully attend the event from their schools/ universities.



There will be no registration fee and the committee will provide the participantsí living and local expenses associated with the Camp. Please be informed that the committee will not support the round trip flight ticket for the participants. However there is a possibility for a limited numbers of scholarships that will cover airfare for the most promising students. Further details will be announced later. The organizers will not be responsible for medical expenses incurred by the participants during the Science Camp. The organizers hence recommend each participant to purchase suitable travel and medical insurance in his or her country before departure.


Contact persons
Egypt Prof. Maged Al-Sherbiny
Assistant Minister for Scientific Research
Email:maged123 at link.net
Hong Kong Prof. Kam Sing WONG
Department of Physics,
Hong Kong University of Science and  Technology,
Clear Water Bay, Kowloon,
Hong Kong, P. R. China
Email: phkswong at ust.hk
Indonesia Prof. Yohanes Surya
Surya Institute (Chairman)
Golden Boulevard Blok U No. 3-6
Jl. Pahlawan Seribu BSD City
Serpong Tangerang Banten
Indonesia 15322
Fax: + 62 21 53162197
E-mail: surya.yohanes at gmail.com
Israel Zvi Paltiel, Ph.D., Director
The Weizmann Institute of Science
Rehovot, ISRAEL
Tel: 972-8-9344527   Fax: 972-8-9344130
E-mail: zvi.paltiel at weizmann.ac.il
Kazakhstan Ms. Leila Yelekenova
Email: e-l-z at mail.ru
Korea Prof. Wonkun Oh
Department of Physics Education,
College of Education, Chungbuk National University
Tel: +82-43-261-2729 (office)
E-mail: wkoh at chungbuk.ac.kr
Malaysia Prof Dato' Dr Mohd Jamil Maah
Timbalan Naib Canselor (Penyelidikan & Inovasi)
Universiti Malaya
50603 Kuala Lumpur
Email: jamilmaah at gmail.com
New Zealand Prof. Ted Baker
University Distinguished Professor of Structural Biology
University of Auckland
New Zealand
Tel: +64-9-3737599 ext. 84415
Email: en.baker at auckland.ac.nz
Pakistan Prof. Hafeez Hoorani
National Centre for Physics
Quaid-i-Azam University Campus
Islamabad, Pakistan
Email: hafeez.hoorani at cern.ch
Philippines Dr. Benjamin O. Chan
Associate Professor
Department of Physics
Ateneo de Manila University
Loyola Heights, QC
Tel : 426-6001 local 5690, 5692
Tel/FAX :426 1043
Email:bchan at ateneo.edu
Singapore Mr. Lim, Yeong Yew Calvin
Curriculum Planning Officer (Science),
Curriculum Planning and Development Division
Ministry of Education
1 North Buona Vista Drive, Singapore 138675
Tel: +65 6879 6647
Fax: +65 6776 2494
E-mail: LIM_Yeong_Yew at moe.gov.sg
Taiwan Prof. Ming-Juey Lin
Executive Secretary of ASCIB
CEO of Wu Chien Shiung Academic Foundation
Professor, Ph. D.
Department of Physics
National Taiwan Normal University
E-mail: mjlin at phy.ntnu.edu.tw
Thailand Prof. Sakda Siripant
Secretary General
POSN Foundation
Faculty of Science, Chulalongkorn University
Phyathai Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Tel: +66-2-2528916
Fax: +66-2-2528917
E-mail: posn_thai at yahoo.co.th
Turkey Dr. Zehra Sayers
Sabanci University
Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences
Orhanli, Tuzla 81474 Istanbul, Turkey
Tel: +90-216 4839509
Fax: +90-216 4839550
Email: zehra at sabanciuniv.edu
Vietnam Prof. Nguyen Anh Ky
Institute of Physics (IOP)
Vietnamese Academy of Science and Technology (VAST)
10 Dao-Tan, Ba-dinh, Hanoi, Vietnam
Tel: (84-4) 3 766 0221, 3766 2107,
Fax: (84-4) 3 766 2107
E-mail: anhky at iop.vast.ac.vn   or   anh.ky.nguyen at cern.ch

* Contact persons of other countries will be announced later.

asc09 at kek.jp